About     FAQ     Contact      Advertise With Us      Press   

Jelly Beans Aren’t Just for Easter! Pair with Wine

Pair gourmet jelly beans with wine!

Rather than just chomping down jelly beans during Easter, why not enjoy gourmet jelly beans throughout the year? Wine lovers may be intrigued with the idea of pairing gourmet jelly beans with wines.

The first wine we paired with jelly beans was an Albariño from the Rias Baixas region in Spain. Terry’s suggestion was that the light colored jelly beans emphasized the fruity characteristics of the Albariño wines, especially those jelly beans that had tropical fruit tastes. The You & Me Albariño also had tropical fruit tastes and when paired with the jelly beans, those tropical fruits tastes were more pronounced.

A couple of days before Easter, I was enjoying the Locations E wine, a red blend of Spanish grape varieties. The Locations E wine paired delightfully with the jelly beans. The biggest take I had on the pairing was that it reminded me of sweet and sour dishes. The pairing created that sensuous mouthfeel leaving one with the feeling of wanting more.

Gimbal’s Fine Candies

If you are wondering, we were tasting the wines with Gimbal’s gourmet jelly beans. We had received a package of the gourmet jelly beans and were delighted to try pairing them with wines. The bag of gourmet jelly beans offers 41 flavors. We still have a few of these special jelly beans reserved for a few more wine tastings and pairings.

About Gimbal’s Fine Candies

Made in the USA, Gimbal’s Fine Candies is located in San Francisco. The candy company claims the gourmet jelly beans are made with real fruit juice. The Gimbal family has been making candy for four generations.

In addition to making the packages of gourmet jelly beans, Gimbal’s makes: Sour Gourmet Jelly Beans, Licorice Scotties, Red Scotties, Cherry Lovers and Cinnamon Lovers candies. Also, look for seasonal candies.

Those who suffer from allergies may want to learn about Gimbal’s Fine Candies. According to the company’s website, “Gimbal’s candies are peanut-free, tree nut-free, gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free and egg-free. These ingredients are responsible for countless allergic reactions across the nation. Many Gimbal’s consumers have personally thanked us for making our candies available to them. We are happy to create delicious treats that can be enjoyed by so many  people, including those living with food allergies.”

For those looking for Kosher foods, Gimbal’s gourmet jelly beans are labeled Kosher  Pareve.


Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

info@winetrailtraveler.com            Sitemap                      Privacy Policy

Copyright: Terry and Kathy Sullivan 2006-2013